‘How to read a book’ reading challange

by The Rhetor

I am an avid reader, however I often find myself at a loss when people start discussing the classics (particularly modern fiction). While I have a degree in Classical Studies the majority of books I read were read as part of some sort of assessment, usually to be forgotten as soon as said assessment was completed. Notable exceptions are Herodotus’ Histories and Gregory of Tours’ History of the Franks; I have spent many long cold nights with both.

So to rectify this deficiency I have decided to read Adlers’ classic ‘How to read a book’ as well as all of the books in the accompanying reading list. I shall recount my literary adventures here on a regular basis with synopses and reviews of each work.

The first post will be on Adlers’ work itself.

Leave a Reply

